Starting learning openGL/GLUT or something O_o

Want to participate in game development? Need help in your game project? Open a new thread where you introduce yourself in here.

Moderator: Game Hunters

Maz
Admin emeritus

Starting learning openGL/GLUT or something O_o

Post by Maz »

Hi deeee Ho peeps!

It may be that I got too much sun, but nevertheless I suddenly decided to start learning creating something graphical with C/C++. And even though I have been doing C/C++ for a few years now, this is 100% new field for me. I have never needed to do anything graphical. Actually the environment I am programming for work, does not even have a display :D

I believe I'll start with openGL and (mesa)GLUT, due to the fact that

1. It's free (or some other library with same API).
2. It's available for many platforms. (I'll be using linux)

I try to write how I am doing in here, but I believe I'll be not advancing with too furious speed, due to the fact that I do not have much of time... My first goal is to learn enough to be able to do a simple, singleplayer pong game :) IE 2 padges on left and right, and a ball bouncing between them.

First I tried to find something to start with. Here's the first few links I am trying to familiarize myself with:
http://www.eecs.tulane.edu/www/Terry/Op ... ction.html
http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/network ... ender.html
http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/network ... build.html
http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/network ... build.html
http://www.opengl.org/documentation/spe ... spec3.html

If anyone has anything better to offer, I'll be glad to get advieces :)

This far I have managed to get following pieces of information:
1. libraries/headers may be named differently depending on the library you use.